An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

HomeNewsArticle Display

Musicians band together to release CD 'For the Troops IV' for America's military

(Courtesy graphic)

(Courtesy graphic)

WASHINGTON -- As a thank you to military members for their service and sacrifice, Grammy Award-nominated musician John Ondrasik and 13 other artists are contributing their talents to CD "For the Troops IV."

Beginning Nov. 22, the CD is available for free download to active duty Service members, veterans and their families worldwide with a valid military ID at Another 200,000 hard copies of the CD are being sent to military bases, USO Centers, and other locations across the nation and overseas, courtesy of TriWest Healthcare Alliance and Operation Homefront.

"I'm excited to launch CD 'For the Troops IV' with a new roster of fantastic artists and great songs," said Ondrasik, who performs under the pseudonym Five For Fighting and spearheaded the CD's development. "This year's CD has a bit more pop and a few surprises, but at its core is a thank you to those whose sacrifices secure our freedom and that of our children."

The complete track listing of "For the Troops IV" is:
· Matchbox 20 - "If You're Gone"
· Wynonna - "What the World Needs"
· Mat Kearny - "Nothing Left to Lose"
· Brandi Carlile - "Before It Breaks"
· Five For Fighting - "Note to an Unknown Soldier"
· Our Lady Peace - "Paper Moon"
· 12 Stones - "We Are One"
· Ingrid Michaelson - "Mountain and the Sea"
· Barenaked Ladies - "Four Seconds"
· Gavin DeGraw - "Free"
· Rocket Club - "One Beautiful Thing"
· Finger 11 - "Gather and Give"
· Ryan Star - "Last Train Home"
· John David Kahn - "American Heart"

"Like John Ondrasik, we strongly believe that music can be an effective and healthy mental break during times of stress or family separation," said TriWest President and CEO David J. McIntyre, Jr. "We are exceptionally grateful for individuals like John and the other contributing artists who are driven to thank our Service members in memorable ways and who encourage others to do the same. It is an honor for TriWest to partner with John and Operation Homefront to distribute the CDs."

Ondrasik previously released music compilations of CD "For the Troops" in 2007 and 2008, and a comedy version in 2009. To date, more than 1,000,000 tracks featured on the CD have been downloaded at, and another 800,000 CDs were pressed and delivered to Service members and veterans worldwide.

For more information on the CD and the artists, visit